Guess what? As a writer, I write the occasional obligatory poem. Here’s the rough draft of one, though it still needs a title. (remember, the key word is “rough draft”) For those who don’t like free verse…maybe I’ll do a structured one in the future. For those who don’t like poetry at all, sorry. The next post won’t be poetry.

Untitled

I went to the sea to catch a ship filled with laughing people.
They laughed, and danced, and sang, and beckoned me onward.
I ran across the beach, the sand slowing my efforts.
And when I reached the water, the ship had sailed,
Echoes of laughing people beckoning me on.

In haste, I built a coracle made of hopes and dreams,
And set to sea to join the beckoning crowd.
I paddled hard, in my boat of dreams,
And the ship grew ever distant
And the coracle of hopes began to leak.

I looked behind to see my path.
In the distance, I saw another ship
Loading on board laughing, dancing children.
The ship, it set sail, and followed my wake.
Its passengers hollering and beckoning.

And while I paddled my way to stasis chasing the first,
Yet the second fell behind.
And from both horizons, echoes of merriment called me on.
Then, as my boat spun confusing each direction,
The echoes dwindled and faded beyond hearing.

And I, in my coracle of leaky dreams, sit
Awash with the waves of a growing storm.
I struggle to keep my hopes from sinking,
Yet as I look for a new direction,
I find myself lost between generations.

