It seems the meditation and candle lighting portion of the service is highly conducive to coming up with prayerful thoughts. For a second week in a row, words appeared in my head without effort or conscious intention.

I light this light
In praise and thanksgiving.
I light this light
For friendships saved.
I light this light
For guidance and shelter.
I light this light
For loved ones in pain.
I light this light
For the strength of memory.
I light this light
To reflect future hope.

Maybe I should eventually gather them together into a compilation of personal prayers.

It is an odd feeling, this mixture of the peace of serenity and the pain of loneliness. I expect and look forward to the time when the loneliness recedes. And yet there is something inside me that warns me of the vital nature of loneliness, that it would be a mistake to be entirely free of it. Some questions have no answers save that the question is asked in the first place. I suspect this is one such.

