I’ve been musician, actor, and teammate. In each case, all my energy was put towards a final performance or goal. After the accomplishment or failure to accomplish, there is a brief depression. Performers often call this the “post-performance blues”. Now that the event day of Wear All White for Women’s Rights has passed, I’m beginning to understand the mindset of “professional” activists.

It’s true that nobody in my city showed up; nevertheless, it is a great rush to be part of something larger than you. On the day after, my first reaction is “now what?” I doubt the friends I made, and the friends who brought me in, will part ways. But except for a case or two, I suspect we will drift apart, each returning to our separate orbits in the social universe. It is a sad time for each participant, and the urge to find something else to do with others, either the same group or a different group, is amazing.

The one day event is done. There is, however, the follow up. The event was intended to be a social awareness exercise. Now comes the actual activist part: sending letters, emails, petitions, etc. to lawmakers. For those who are following the movement, the Wear All White for Women’s Rights community page will become increasingly important.

