When I’m asked where I find my blog topics, I’m often at a loss for what to say. I rarely find the topics, they find me. Not only do the find me, they sneak up and whack me upside the head, they steamroll me, they ambush me, they climb in my brain and throw a party. Yes, sometimes they leave me alone, and when they do, I have to go hunting.

The uninitiated will call topics finding me “inspiration”. I call it “mostly annoying”. Usually when a topic jumps out at me, I can’t afford the distraction or I’m not in a place to do so much as write it down. By the time I am, it’s already left.

Once I have a topic, what then? I often have only a vague notion of where I think it’s going to go. Too bad it rarely works out how I think it will. In fact, most of my blog writing relies on momentum, not “inspiration”.

One of my techniques for topic-finding, when they appear to have abandoned me, is to ask friends on Facebook to give me a topic. As with improv, never say no. Take the first topic someone responds with and run with it. This is one of the advantages of an unthemed blog. The downside is it will never be an “authority” blog. I write for entertainment: mostly mine, though the growing number of ‘likes’ and ‘follows’ says other people are being entertained as well. If one day’s entry is boring or otherwise unsatisfying, the next is almost guaranteed to be a different topic, or even a different style.

I hope readers continue to enjoy and leave comments or discuss topics.

